Wesley Kiptoo 2021 Big 12 Mens Cross Country Championship

Wesley Kiptoo runs in the 2021 Big 12 Men's Cross Country Championship on Oct. 29 in Stillwater, Oklahoma. Kiptoo won the Big 12 individual title.

After a successful season that saw top-10 finishes for both the men and the women, multiple Cyclones were recognized by the Big 12 for their efforts.

On the men's side it was a clean sweep, as Wesley Kiptoo won Runner of the Year, Ryan Ford won Newcomer of the Year and first-year head coach, Jeremy Sadbury, won Coach of the Year in the Big 12.

For the women, Ashley Tutt won Newcomer of the Year. Tutt, a senior, transferred from Northern Illinois after a very successful career in the MAC.

Kiptoo won Big 12 Runner of the Year for the second consecutive year, and earns Iowa State its fifth-straight season of receiving that particular award. 

It was quite a successful season all around for the cross country team, as the men finished second at the NCAA Championships and the women finished in ninth. Both sides also finished in the top three at the Big 12 Championships and the NCAA Midwest Regionals.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.