DR- roshon roomes

Iowa State's Roshon Roomes runs in the men's sprint medley relay at the Drake Relays in Des Moines on April 28. 

Iowa State track and field took advantage of the California sun on Thursday by qualifying numerous athletes to compete in the next rounds of NCAA track and field preliminaries.

The women’s team saw its first action come from Erinn Stenman-Fahey in the women’s 800-meter race. Placing seventh overall with a time of 2:06.15, Stenman-Fahey qualified for the quarterfinals on Friday at 6:30 p.m. PDT/8:30 p.m. CDT.

The women saw their second action of the night come from Amanda Vestri and Anne Frisbie in the 10,000-meter race. Vestri placed twelfth with a qualifying time of 33:57.37. Frisbie finished twenty-fifth with a time of 34:45.62, but did not qualify. The second round time for the event hasn't been announced.

The men’s team saw its first action come from Vlad Pavlenko in the men’s hammer throw. Pavlenko had throws of 63.84, 64.64, and 63.03 meters. He placed tenth overall for Iowa State in that event.

The men’s next saw action come from Eric Fogltanz in the men’s 400-meter hurdles. Racing against 48 other athletes from around the country from six different heats, all vying for a qualifying spot, Fogltanz qualified for Iowa State, placing 16 overall, with a time of 51.14 seconds. He will race in the quarterfinals for the 400-meter on Friday at 5:45 p.m. PDT/7:45 p.m. CDT.

The men saw their third and best action of the night come in the men’s 800-meter race from Roshon Roomes and Festus Lagat. Roomes placed first in the event with a time of 1:48.59 and Lagat placed twelfth with a time of 1:49:82. Both qualifying to race in the quarterfinals on Friday at 6:45 p.m. PDT/8:45 p.m. CDT.

The last action of the evening for the men came from David Too in the 10,000-meter run. Too placed 26th with a time of 29:42.04. He did not qualify in the event.

Events can be viewed online at FloTrack.com.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.