• May 5, 2015

Iowa State Daily

Multiple Cyclones earn Big 12 Awards

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Sunday, March 10, 2013 6:19 pm | Updated: 6:29 pm, Sun Apr 21, 2013.

Multiple Cyclones earned All-Big 12 awards, which were all announced Sunday night by the Big 12 Conference. Here is a list of all the players who were honored. 

Will Clyburn — Named Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, All-Big 12 Second Team, All-Rookie Team. Clyburn is the second Cyclone in a row to grab the Newcomer of the Year award after Royce White was awarded last year. 

Tyrus McGee — Earned the Sixth Man Award in the Big 12 and was named a Big 12 Honorable Mention. McGee averaged 13.5 points per game off the bench, leading the Big 12 in 3-pointers, shooting 47 percent from behind the arc and making a total of 87 in the regular season.

Melvin Ejim — Announced as the Big 12's inaugural Scholar Athlete of the Year, also picking up an Big 12 All-Third Team honor. Ejim averaged 10.6 points per game, while also bringing down 9.3 rebounds per game. 

Korie Lucious — Named to the Big 12's Honorable Mention list. Lucious averaged 10.6 points per game and 5.5 assists per game. 

Chris Babb — Named to the Big 12 All-Defensive Team. Babb's defense was notorious throughout the league, always guarding the opposing team's best player. Averaged 9.3 points per game, while also a top-10 3-point shooter in the Big 12. 

Georges Niang — The freshman was named to the Big 12's All-Rookie team. Niang was third on the team, averaging 11.8 points per game along with 3.5 rebounds. 

Sports on TV Today